Skip to main content
Submitted by mkelly on 28 June 2023

The term ‘watershed’ is defined as the land area in which rain falls and from which water drains into a stream or river. This area covers not only the mountains and hill slopes but also includes the forests, farms, industries and housing developments on them. Jamaica is divided into 10 hydrologic basins and 26 watershed management units (WMUs) each usually identified by the name of the major river, which runs through it.

Publication Type